Too Much Free Time

Hello world,  I hope that the New Year is treating you well.  So far it has treated me well(all two days of it) but there is one thing that has not been too great for me.  You see, I have found one of the most hindering and difficult sources to language learning during the holidays: free time.  I was given 2 weeks off(unfortunately unpaid) for the Christmas and New Years holidays. You would think that would make this language learning thing easier. Well I can testify now that it has been the worst thing in the world.

More free time is a hinderance?!? How can that be?

When I am working, I know exactly which moments I could steal and turn into language learning opportunities.  I had a set schedule and it was full so I knew I had to take advantage of all those moment that I found driving to do the weekly groceries or whatever.  For some reason, finding those little moments has proven to be much more difficult when you are, as they say here in new Zealand, on holiday.

I will admit right away, its mostly procrastination on my part, but the problem is that free time tends to encourage procrastination.  Most days I end up saying to myself: I have Plenty of time to do X  I have all day.  Then next thing you know I am struggling to get my 15 mins in that I hold myself accountable.  Yeah I gave myself a pass on the days right around Christmas, but 27th-31st(New Years is kinda boring in our family)were not busy at all and I  should have no excuse for only doing the minimum.

So whats the plan.

I have decided that I will solve the problem in the best way I can think of.  I am getting rid of my free time.  Yes that means I will compel myself to do stuff.  That laundry pile will be finished and those dishes will be cleaned, dried and put away.  If I can keep myself busy then I can “steal” time from myself and get learning.

That’s the plan.  It’s not perfect, but neither am I.  If anyone else has any other suggestions on how to keep myself busy just let me know.

2 Comments

Filed under Opinions, spanish, Ways to learn

2 responses to “Too Much Free Time

  1. I think I have to agree with you completely here. There was a time when I was working 7 days a week and any free time I had was scarce, so I had to budget my time very effectively. I can honestly say that since returning to a five day work week, my Spanish has suffered. Until I read your post I had not really realized that was a big part of my recent troubles with studying. The New Year is here, however, and like so many others, I am trying to get back on track. More reading, more writing, and hopefully, a lot more speaking! Best of luck to you!

    • It’s amazing how we waste things when we have more of it. Like when I got a raise at work and some how things still seemed tight at the end of the month. Best of luck with you. Let me know when you get you pod cast going

What do you think? Please comment below.

