Why I blog

The picture says it all I think.  I don’t aspire to some greatness.  I don’t think I am god’s gift to anything.  My Spanish is good, but nothing much at the same time.  I live in a little town called Whangaparaoa (pronounced fang-a-pa-rao-a, Don’t ask) and my life consists of working, cleaning, cooking, and hopefully finding a way to court my wife in between all that.  In between all those   To put it bluntly my life is not that interesting.

No I am not trying to tear myself down, just stating the obvious.  I am not expecting to become an overnight sensation and have books and movie deals made about it.  I blog for one very specific reason and one very specific reason only:  for me.  Now it does get more specific than that, but every reason I can give leads to that one answer, I blog for my own personal development.  It may sound selfish, but when I list them you will see it’s not as bad as it sounds.

I blog to get my ideas out of my head and into action.

I don’t know what it is about a blog that makes me take action, but it does.  Do you know how many times I started and stopped learning spanish?  Well 5 times, but still it would have been 6 if it wasn’t for this blog.  My project to make a Thai course has floated in my head for years now, but until I started blogging about, I never would have done it.

Part of it is that when I Blog I am finally clearing out all the mess of thoughts and ideas floating around in my head, and making sense of them.  I clarified my system and how it works, because I blog about it.  It’s amazing how I kinda had it figured out, but then I blogged about it and I totally had it figured out.

Blogging is social

I have ‘met’ more people than I would have ever thought by blogging.  I have found blogs by reading the blog rolls of those who were on the blog roll of someone who happened to liked or commented on my post. (Did you get that?)  Blogging is one fantastic way to ‘meet’ people.  I have met those who have helped me with my spanish and have given me wonderful encouragement as I go!  Not necessarily because they have read my blog or commented on my posts, but because I have read their blog and listened to what they had to say.  I know I would never have found all these blogs if I wasn’t blogging myself.

Having people read and care or at least they pretend to care, is that I now have several responsibility coaches out there.  When I say I am going to do something, I really have to now.  I just told the world I was going to do it and now I have to!  Probably part of the reason that the last reason is true.

Blogging is a great log of where I have come

I have a record of what I have done and what I was doing.  I can go back and re-read a blog and remember what it was like then.  I have kept a journal before, but it’s not something I was very consistent about.  Blogging forces me to write and what do I write about?  My life.  This is the best journal ever.  Plus, journals or diaries always have this sacredness about them.  I love that I can have this open blog that anyone can read and tell me just how stupid I am any time they want.  It is nice.

Another bonus is that on those day I feel inspired and motivated, I tend to write posts along those lines.  Then the days come around and I am less than motivated and I read those blog posts and I remember what it is like to be motivated on those days.  It is enough to get me going again!

So there you have it! That is why I blog.  I can’t help but say that all those reasons are for me.  Blogging helps me.  I know it’s selfish, but It is what it is.  If some how I have benefited someone else, then I am grateful.  That would be my only regret is that I get way more out of blogging than I could ever give back.

Anyone else have experience with blogging good or bad?  I would love to hear about it in the comment section.

2 Comments

Filed under Learn Spanish, Motivation

2 responses to “Why I blog

  1. I blog because I want to express my feelings , thoughts, opinion on topic I am writing about and there are a lot of people who enjoyed the post of the bloggers except those that are spammy post. Excellent blog and article well written indeed.

  2. Pingback: Let there be a reason | | GeekErgoSumGeekErgoSum

What do you think? Please comment below.

