I am from ญี่ปุ่น(Yii pun)…..

When I was in Thailand,  I was there as  missionary for my church.  Most of the other missionaries I was with were other Europeans, mostly Americans.  There were several Thai missionaries as well.  We would hang around with each other so much that it began to change our accents.  My family started to notice that my accent was kinda off from a typical american accent.  My English grammar was still the same and my pronunciations wasn’t bad, it’s just that I sounded ‘different‘ than what I used to sound like.

This wasn’t the only interesting thing that happened.  The Thai missionaries began to have their accents change as well.  In fact they would change so much that other Thais would say things to them like, “Where are you from?  You aren’t Thai, you don’t speak very clearly,” and “This Farang you are with speaks Thai more clearly than you, so you can’t be Thai.”  If I had a baht every time I heard a Thai mate of mine get torn apart for not speaking Thai very well, I think I would be a millionaire.

Funny thing happened on the way to the wad

This interesting situation ended up creating one of the funniest things to ever happen to one of my Thai friends.  We will call him Jo to protect his identity.

Let me give you a bit of back ground on what we did as missionaries.  We go and meet people and invite them to hear a message about our church.  If they accept then we invite them to hear more and so on.  You can guess the most of the people we talk to say no and most of the people who do say yes, say no for further visits.

My friend Jo, who is a Thai, started talking to a man in his neighborhood.  During the conversation his accent came up.  Jo was not in the mood to be told he couldn’t speak Thai very well and decided to say he was from Japan(ญี่ปุ่น -Yii pun).  It made for an interesting conversation and so much so that the man eventually asked to learn about the church.  Since the chances of him wanting to learn anything more than that were very slim, Jo didn’t worry much about his little ‘fib’ about being Japanese.

Little did he know….

This man not only wanted to continue learning, but he became very interested.  Not just interested in the church, but in his now Japanese friend whose stories became more and more elaborate as he went on. Including naming the place he was from and what it was like in Japan compared to Thailand.

I never did find out what happened, because I ended up being moved to a new area.  This is one of those examples of why you shouldn’t lie, because it always ends up biting you in the ญี่ปุ่น -Yii pun

 

6 Comments

Filed under Memories, Thai

6 responses to “I am from ญี่ปุ่น(Yii pun)…..

  1. Reblogged this on I want 2 speak spanish and commented:
    This is a post I put on my Spanish blog, but its just a memory about Thailand that I think would be fun to share.

    Feel free to Share any interesting memories of ‘fibing’ in another country

  2. Rob

    Hi Travis,
    Today I found your blog and it is great ! I am from Holland and started to learn Thai also. I followed a 20-lesson course in Holland for speaking Thai. I understand that it is easier to speak Thai if you also know how to read Thai. That is why I was searching on internet and found your blog.
    I read on your blog that you use the Manii books to practice your reading. I looked in to them, but for me it is 1 step to far, because they are in Thai only. Do you know a good online source (preferably free) for the basics in reading, so I can start with the Manii books ?

    Keep up the good work. I am definitely following your work and your course. I look forward to the new lessons you put up on your site.
    Greetings, Rob.

    Ps. I also started a blog a few days ago to blog about my experiences learning thai. It is in dutch and I would be happy to link to your page if that is ok for you.

    • Hi Rob

      For most things I recomend that you leave reading Thai till later, but Thai is the exception. There is no standard form of writing Thai in English and so it can be difficult to learn with out Learning to read Thai. That doesn’t mean you can’t learn it with out, but yes I do recomend starting to learn to read Thai while you Practice speaking.

      I am glad you like my blog….I have however recently consolidated this blog with my Spanish blog. That was because more people were reading my spanish blog and then moving over to my Thai one. It just made it easier for me. As for the Manii books I will get some links and put them on my Spanish Blog in an hour or so.

      • Rob

        Wow thanks Travis ! The interactive version of book 1 and 2 was exactly what I was looking for.

        Something completely different. Email notification of your blog doesn’t seem to work. Maybe because I was already logged in to WordPress. I try it again without me logged in. Maybe that will help.

      • Not its ok…I am not sure why it wasn’t working. I am glad that the two books are helping.

What do you think? Please comment below.

