The Next Phase

Montage of languages. Prototype header for the...

Montage of languages. Prototype header for the language portal. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello everyone!  It is a new day and a new week!  After passing one of the hardest exams I have ever taken, I spent a few days relaxing, including going to the best home firework show in my life!  This weekend, I have done some training to get ready for the next phase of my work and I started to think about what I am going to be doing with my life now that this burden of passing these exams are over.  There are many things I have decided, two of which effect this blog and language learning.

Spanish will not be my focus after 2012

Why am I doing this?  First I must have an “end date.”  My goal is already to be fluent by the end of the year, but If I don’t make it more urgent than I wont work as hard as I need to so I can become fluent by the end of the year.  Goals some times need a little help and for me this is a big boost.  Knowing that I wont be devoting most of my free time to this after the end of the year means I am going to make the remaining time I have left worth it.

The second reason is that I never intended to end with Spanish.  I truly have always wanted to learn more languages.  Being Multilingual/a polyglot has been a goal of mine for ever.  If I don’t set an end date for one language, I will never start the next.  Of course I plan on maintaining Spanish forever, but one can spend a life time studying your native language let alone your 2nd or 3rd languages.  Which brings me to the other major change to this blog:

I will start a new language project in 2013

I pretty much said as much already.  It’s taken awhile but I have already chosen which language I will be starting next.  I am very excited about this and, as I recommend you do, over the next 5 months or so I will be gathering as much material as I can to help me start 2013 out running.

What is this language?  Well I’m not going to tell you now.  What I thought I would do is let you go through my thought process as I narrowed down what I wanted to learn.  So what I will give you now is the master list of languages I considered learning next.  Next month I will reveal which 3 languages I narrowed them down to.  After that,  I will devote a whole post to each of the 3 languages I chose and why in Sept, Oct, and Nov.  Then finally at the beginning of December I will reveal the new language project and why it won out over the rest.

So without further ado, the list in no particular order:

  • French
  • Mandarin
  • Italian
  • ASL
  • Samoan
  • Japanese
  • German
  • Portuguese

Even though I have already chosen the language, feel free to post which languages you think I should choose and why.  I would also love to keep the discussion going on my Facebook page.

9 Comments

Filed under Progress

9 responses to “The Next Phase

  1. Ooh! Samoan sounds interesting! But I say go with Japanese next. Am I close?

  2. My bet is Mandarin—that is the new wave!

    • Mandarin is very popular, but I do believe it’s justifiably popular. I would be lying if I didn’t admit that it’s popularity is part how it got to my list. I mean just for the quantity of stuff out there, it does make it easier to learn when you have more to choose from.

What do you think? Please comment below.

