Take a Vacation from your Language

Picture from wikipedia.org

I just got back from a lovely little camping trip with my family.  There were many things about this trip that I loved.  I loved playing with my kids in a river and in a lake and spending time with my sister and brother-in-law, but the thing I like the most about the trip was that I was unplugged from the world for several days in a row.  I was able to relax, think, and basically clear my mind of things.  There is some type of healing that goes on when you totally walk away from things.  You get a fresh start and a clearer picture of what is most important to you.  It’s something you can’t do on a weekend.  You need a “vacation” to help you step away from your world, so you can see it better.

How this applies to language learning

Up to this point I have spent my weekends focused on Thai.    Since figuring out how to learn two languages at once, I never really stop learning Thai or Spanish, but I always spend my Weekends Focused on Thai.  This allows me to both improve my Thai and start my Spanish language anew and refreshed.

What I realized this weekend was that I need to do that, but I also need to take a regular “holiday” from my Spanish.  Spend a whole week, just doing something other than Spanish.  So from this point on I will spend the last week per month, doing something other than actively learning Spanish.  For me this means I will work on my Thai, but for anyone it could mean reading a book or practicing an instrument that you really want to learn.  It doesn’t matter what it is, just take a vacation from your language.

We will see how this changes when I start another langauge project, but for now my final week of the month will be spent doing something other than Spanish.  How will you spend you language vacation?

1 Comment

Filed under How to learn, spanish, Thai

One response to “Take a Vacation from your Language

  1. Pingback: Another goal crossed off the list but a break from language « Eurolinguiste

What do you think? Please comment below.

